Legislative History

Sen. Lourey is known for her courage and proven record of beating the odds:
In 1990, she ran as a DFLer against a longtime Republican incumbent state Representative and became the first woman to represent her rural district. Six years later she would claim a state Senate seat over yet another legislative veteran. The two incumbents Becky defeated to claim public office had 44 years of legislative service between them.

House of Representatives

Few successful political figures have succeeded without learning from a setback or two along away. Becky Lourey took on popular Republican House incumbent Doug Carlson twice during the 1980s, losing narrowly both times. Persistence paid off in 1990 when Becky beat the 18-year legislative veteran. She easily won re-election in 1992 and 1994.


After winning the DFL endorsement for the Minnesota Senate in 1996, she defeated 26-year incumbent state Sen. Florian Chmielewski in the primary; Becky won a four-year term to the Senate in the general election in November that year. She won re-election to a two-year term in the Senate in 2000, and after redistricting brought more Republican voters into her district she won another four-year Senate term in 2002.


Included among her major legislative accomplishments: co-author of the entire MinnesotaCare package in 1992, as well as the Small Business Health Care Insurance Reform provisions and chief author of the Rural Health Initiatives which included creation of the current Office of Rural Health and Primary Care; initiated and chaired the Katie Poirer Task Force which made recommendations resulting in several law changes to improve community safety; authored legislation to provide Minnesota Grown food stamp replacement services to denied immigrants; authored the Medication Management Act; authored the Senior Prescription Drug Program; led the fight to successfully pass BGH hormone-free milk labeling requirements; and this year successfully carried the bonding provision to establish the Rush Line Transportation Corridor along Highway I-35.


Joan and Walter Mondale Award for Public Service at the annual DFL Hubert H. Humphrey Day dinner. Then-DFL State Chairman Mike Erlandson stated, “Sen. Lourey’s progressive passion and optimism is infectious. It is hard to be as progressive as Becky and be so popular personally on both sides of the aisle.” 2005

Minnesota Council of Nonprofits—Legislative Leadership Award; 2001.

Brain Injury Association of Minnesota—Legislative Leadership Award; 2001

Lake Superior Water Trails Association—Leadership Award; 2001

Minnesota Alliance for Progressive Action “in recognition of your outstanding leadership and vision as a rural legislator in building a progressive movement.” 1991

Ladies Auxiliary to the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States. Citation of Merit

Patriotic Citizen Award. “Given in grateful appreciation for unsolicited inspirational patriotic service to the community through the daily display of our national flag.”

The Minnesota Nutrition Project Directors Association on behalf of the State of Minnesota's Senior Citizens: “We applaud your work on behalf of Minnesota's older adults.” 1993

United Way of Minneapolis Area's Success by 6, “as a supporter of quality early childhood development....those mental, social, emotional and physical skills needed to succeed throughout life.”

Food First Coalition — In Appreciation of Devoted and Invaluable Services. 1995.

The PACE Committee of the National Association of Social Workers MN Chapter “in appreciation of outstanding public service.” 1997.

Lucy Hahn/Barbara Stuhler Political Courage Award, Women Candidate Development Coalition.

MN Center for Rural Health “for providing guidance and support in the development of the MN Center for Rural Health.” 1992.

AFSCME Council 6, AFL-CIO and the Union's Corrections Policy Committee “for your dedication to public service and in support of MN's working men and women who make the state prison system great.” 1997

Volunteer Award “for dedicated support of Mother's Camp.” 1997

St. Paul Business and Professional Women (BPW). 1997 Legislator of the Year Award. 1997

MN DACA Award “For distinguished service to people with developmental disabilities as a member of Minnesota House of Representatives.” 1992

MN Community Action Association. “Minnesota's Senior Citizens appreciate your leadership and support.” 1996

Health Care Leader 2000 — Minnesota Hospital and Health Care Partnership, “in recognition of your strong support for Minnesota health care, our hospitals, employees, volunteers and the patients we serve.”

MN Board on Aging 1997 “your leadership in establishing the Senior Drug Program.”

Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare “In appreciation for outstanding leadership and support of Minnesota children with physical and functional disabilities.” 2001

MN Farmers Union “in recognition of a 100% voting record during the 1993-94 and 1995-96 sessions of the Minnesota Legislature.”

MN Outdoor Heritage Alliance “in recognition and appreciation for your help in preserving Minnesota's valuable outdoor heritage for future generations.” 1999

Minnesota Coalition of Licensed Social Workers “for outstanding service to the profession and the community as chief author of the Outpatient Mental Health Act.” 1993

1991 Friend of EMS “for her exemplary dedication and commitment to the improvement of EMS in the Arrowhead region and the entire state of Minnesota.” 1992

Minnesota Council of Child Caring Agencies “for outstanding contributions to children in Minnesota.” 1996.

B. Robert Lewis Award of the Minnesota Public Health Association “for her aggressive pursuit to establish and maintain health as a human right and to secure optimal community and personal health in Minnesota.” 1992.

Minnesota Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Prevention and Parenting “for valuable leadership in support of adolescent pregnancy, prevention and parenting policies.” 1998.

The Minnesota Women's Consortium “for outstanding contributions.” Celebration 18: Creating New Traditions - Mothers & Daughters. 1998.

Best Politician by City Pages (Minneapolis/St.Paul) Best of 2007

Political Excellence Award, Women Candidate Development Coalition – 2008

Woman of Distinction, DFL Woman’s Hall of Fame - 2009